Fattening, widening, stereoising, mastering after making OP-1 track

Sorry to ask such a broad question. I’ve enjoyed my OP1 for years as a standalone box with headphones. I can make whole tunes, love the workflow, and love how it all sounds a bit like something I’d have made in the late 1980s with four track tape and synths.

But I’ve just got back into working with DAW (after a long period of rejecting any computer in the music process). I’ve imported the tape tracks from OP1. But these tape tracks are often mono mixdowns of previous single tracks, with effects baked in, and all the other glorious things you end up doing with an OP1 you know and love. I have no complaints about the OP1 sound character, and I have a lot of general experience mixing and mastering.

But like most people, mixing and mastering in DAW has always been with things that came down the line in a more predictable way (stereo high quality drums, one track per instrument where I can do EQ and dynamics, etc). So polishing up the lovely sound jumble of four mono OP1 tracks is another kettle of fish.

I can find my way around with prior knowledge and experiments but I feel like it’s a challenge others will have faced, so I am posting to ask if anyone has previously posted any tips or workflows. In particular, I’d love to hear any tricks about widening the stereo image, and any dynamics or saturation approaches that sound good.

I’m also keen to hear if anyone has come across eg a stereo buss compressor and EQ combination that works very similarly to that on the OP1, so that there can be some consistency between “working with four tape tracks inside the OP1” and “working with 4 tracks extracted from the OP1 in a DAW”.

Sorry again if this is both too broad and too niche! I did look around for tips on “mastering after OP1”, if I’ve somehow missed a mega-thread then, please, point me to it and I’ll dive in there!

1 Like