How did TE design the UI?

This a questions for the graphic / software designers amongst you:

How did TE design and prototype the OP-1’s UI? I was wondering whether anyone had seen any making of videos, interviews or had any insight?

I know that in the firmware the main UI elements are stored as SVGs, which must be manipulated live in software - it’s super clever!

I’m a designer and am interested in developing a similar interface mechanism for an unrelated product (non-musical - not even close). I’m not a software designer. In the past designing apps we build a prototype in something like Axure and the developers code it up. But in the world of physical product and embedded UIs I haven’t found a tool that interfaces with hardware and allows a UI to be prototyped - i have absolutely no idea how TE turned Illustrator files into a working prototype, and then a product. It’s executed so well and I’d like to learn about it.

Anybody got any knowledge?

Tom

There is a thread here where people are reverse engineering the beta firmware. Apparently you can change the images. TE has posted some images to instagram showing part of their design process

SVG’s are vector based so most likely as you said designed in Illustrator.

I’m guessing they just get everyone in the UI design and build involved through the project so that the programmers know how things work/animate/move so when they get given the SVG’s they know how to code it all in to work this way.
Any platform that would allow previewing SVG’s would still need someone to go in and indicate movement/animation etc anyway.
Maybe they’ve built their own testing platform but I doubt it. I’d bet it’s all just artworked then prorgammed in then tweaked from there.

C++, Quicktime, etc. have libraries for utilizing SVG files. http://softwarerecs.stackexchange.com/questions/4325/c-c-library-to-parse-svg-files