Noob- OP and IPad

Hey all, I’m completely new to music and the OP in general. I’ve been having a ton of fun, but felt pretty limited by the tape function. Before my laptop took the big sleep, I had a blissful week playing live pieces off the OP into ableton live and working with other samples and bits I have. I was wondering if there’s an iPad (I have a pro/camera connection kit) app with the same functionality? Thanks in advance. I looked around for an answer to this but it looked like everything was a few years old.

So you want to sequence on the ipad?

Yes its possible, apps like garageband will let you record and have plenty tracks. As far as i know youll need an audio interface for it though. It wont work with just the usb (might be wrong on this)

If you want to record the Audio from the OP-1 into the iPad you definitely need an USB audio interface, most class-compliant should work, although you might need to connect it via a powered USB hub if it doesn’t have a dedicated power supply.

If you only need mono recording you can also try a headphone/mic splitter adaptor that separates the microphone input from the stereo output of the iPad’s jack.

The cheapest USB audio interface is tiny, has mono in, stereo out, and costs under $10, but it will consume your USB port, so if you need MIDI, then go for a hub and an audio interface box. That said, on modern-day iPad you can use a 4-pin jack and disable the auto-leveller (though I have no exact details). Re software, I got a lot of unexpected joy out of Loopy HD… If you feel like longer, more linear, layers - then you’ll like Kymatica AUM too. Happy exploring!

Cubasis might be what you’re after. Some hardware devices include a license for it as well, e.g. the Yamaha AG 06 mixer which also is a class compliant audio interface

Thanks for the suggestions and info! Im looking into all of them. I’m always so surprised how helpful this place is and how nice people are to users of varying skill/knowledge