Soldering

With all the kit audio projects available, i’ve decided that I would really like to invest in some good equipment and learn how to solder. Was wondering if anyone else has been down this path and could offer any friendly advice? I haven’t done any soldering work before, so i’m starting off as a complete newbie. After some initial research, i’m looking at the Weller WESD51 in the link below.

http://www.weller-toolsus.com/soldering/systems/weller-wesd51-soldering-station-digital-50w-120v-eta.html

I’m also looking at purchasing some basic tools in the link below.

http://www.ladyada.net/resources/equipt/index.html

Could anyone advise if this is the right equipment for the kind of projects (synth kits) i’m looking at doing? I’m also a bit confused about the ideal pen tip size and solder to use.

I’m also interested to know the best way in which I could practice soldering and get good before I do any real projects…

Cheers!

Weller stuff is great. My dad had one very similar to that for many years before upgrading to something more high-end. It’s a really good idea to get one of those if you can afford it. I went through several crappy cheap soldering irons before getting something temperature controlled, now I can’t go back.

That list is pretty good, you don’t need everything there but a lot of it will be useful. I think as long as you have good wire cutters/strippers, something to hold your circuit boards and a multimeter you’ll be fine. Oh, and an extractor fan, very important! Solder fumes are intense.

I’d suggest you start with very small kits or just making cables at first. Get comfortable with small cheap stuff before you launch into big projects. It doesn’t take long to pick up some soldering skill though. I’m not very good at it but I can make cables and basic circuits pretty easily; if I actually made anything beyond that I’m sure my skills would improve.