Advice on going modular

i’m still new to synths but after a few years with POs, volcas, a monologue and a micro/drumbrute, i’ve been seduced by the minibrute 2 and it’s modular rackbrute offering.

i’m hoping the 6U addon will keep me going for a few years, and with a bit of luck i won’t outgrow it, but will be able to swap things out as my tastes evolve.

I’m certain many have been through this before, so considering the minibrute 2 and the rackbrute, what modules would you advise on looking into first?

And is there praise for the minibrute2/rackbrute combo?

First off, very smart to look into the 6U case. With discipline, that will keep you satisfied alongside the minibrute 2 for years to come. The trick is, once you have a system of modules, keeping them and actually using them. Most people (myself included) go through a phase of looking at all the newest modules coming out, and buying and selling and rebuying and reselling, chasing the “perfect” system.

This just leads to less money in your bank account and less music being made. So try very hard to focus on actually creating with your modular!

What type of production are you looking to get into? The Op-1 and Minibrute 2 alone gives you quite a range. So really it comes down to what you’re looking to add to those two amazing synths.

I’m a big fan of Low Pass Gates like the LxD, Optomix, dplpg, lifeforms dynamic impulse filter.

Or even the Endorphin.es Grand Terminal which has several different types of filters and gates and effects built in.

Most people will tell you to get a Make Noise MATHS becaue it does so many things.

Buy modules that jump out to you, and don’t forget about simple utility modules like Links from Mutable Instruments, or mults, and switches stuff like that really makes a system go a long way.

Hope this helps.

"What type of production are you looking to get into? "

I just like to play around. I’m not a musician.

I like the research and learning involved in choosing/selecting