Desperate to back up and restore sounds for PO-35 - Help!

Hi, new here and really hoping someone can help:

I have a few of the PO’s and am very keen to learn how to use them - I have a general understanding of the PO-12 and PO-20, and recently bought the PO-35 but am struggling to get my head round it. Basically, I really want be confident that I can back it up properly on my computer before I get underway with recording, and I’m having trouble doing so.

I’m very new to this and don’t have a particularly hi tech set up - just a laptop with Audacity (which I’m new to) and a stereo line in to the headphone jack. I’ve done a bit of research online and made sure the recording is 16 bit/44khz, the output on the PO-35 is a decent volume level (11), and I’m getting the static-y track sent to Audacity successfully.

My problem is sending it back to the PO-35. I play it from Audacity back through the line (my socket is both line in and speaker out, so I re-insert the jack and select speakers from the drop down options) and press set the PO-35 to receive. I then get a kind of chimey sound on the PO-35 with a ‘RCV’ sign on the display… but then once the signal has been sent (I hear the static-y data signal again) nothing has changed.

Should there be something notifying me that it has been successful? Am I missing a step? I confess, Im unsure if there is a difference between a line out signal and the speaker/headphone options that I get when I plug the cable back into the jack.

As I say, this is new to me so would really appreciate any advice and apologies if I’m missing something super basic here

I haven’t done this in a while, but I’m pretty sure there is some indication in the display when it is properly receiving the data, like a counter.