Does your OP-1 Field sit flat on a level surface?

Hi, I’m new to the OP-1 world, having recently acquired my first (a Field) and I absolutely love it. However, I have encountered some quality control issues. I’m actually on my third unit.

The first one had a sticky encoder and double triggered frequently, so I exchanged it. The second one also double triggered a lot and the FM antenna didn’t work so I exchanged again. This third one seems pretty good except it doesn’t sit flat on a level surface. It rocks back and forth ever so slightly on two of the corners. I can’t quite tell why it’s happening but it’s pretty annoying.

It also has a pretty wobbly volume knob but from what I understand that’s quite common, and I think I can live with that.

The wobbling on the table might be hard to live with though. But before I go playing the exchange lottery again I wanted to see if the not sitting flat issue is something that lots of people have encountered before.

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi @horseofcourse, I had the same problem with OP-1F, i could not find a table where it would not do that, it was just a 0.5mm, I gave the chassis a gentle twist and the rocking was gone. The feet on the unit are quite hard rubber, my old OP-1 had more forgiving soft rubber feet, not sure why they “improved” that. Maybe they wouldn’t do so well with the fancy slide in sleeve. I actually use the Decksaver placed on the back.

1 Like

my first 2 units did that which i exchanged for diff issues and my 3rd current one knock on wood doesn’t wobble. ive heard its common too even te support told me a little wobble is common but if its wobbly to the point its harder to play the keys live id exchange it (that is the advice i was given by te support directly)

the cause of the wobble is the rubber feet not being perfect level, so if u think u can somehow fix it yourself thats def an option too