Dr. Videolab and the Multiple Versions of Unity of Madness

Hello everyone! I am a happy OP-Z owner since a few months, and I’m in love with it. I am a motion designer and I was intrigued by the Videolab capabilities from the start, but I managed to find the time to set up the Videolab environment only yesterday. I’m a complete Unity newbie so it took some time to understand the system. After a good deal of trial and error I’ve managed to get the latest recommended version of Unity running (2018.4.29), along with the Videolab 1.1.3 Beta on an M1 Mac mini running Monterey 12.2.1.

I tried to follow the simplest tutorial out there: rotate a cube with a knob, but I could not manage to do it and after a full day of experiments I’m out of ideas.
First things first: I’m connecting the OP-Z via an apple USB C to C cable directly into the Mac mini, MIDIjack shows the OP-Z as input and output and I can monitor the MIDI messages in its little window.
So far so good.
I created the cube, created the super basic KLAK patch (Knob input > Axis conversion > Transform out), assigned the transform out component to the Cube… and nothing. Nothing at all happens. Not in the editor window, not in the Game window.
There is some contradicting info about the need to create a MIDI source component: some say it’s not necessary because MIDIjack captures everything anyway, but just in case I tried with and without it. No results.
I also imagined that maybe it’s not possible to use OP-Z directly into Unity, so I managed to successfully export my sad Videopak into the macOS OP-Z app (v1.2.20) and the cube shows up, but there’s no interaction with the knobs. I’ve tried to export both the Videopak without the MIDI source (as recommended someplace in the wiki), and with it. It made no difference.