Drive and Release Settings?

Hey just curious what y’all set your Drive and Release on the OP-1 Field ?

Is there a sweet spot you prefer or does it vary?

I (og-1) tend to 40-60 drive and 100-150 release.

but I’d bet the “best” settings are pretty personal. not just because of varying taste in driven-ness, but also because of how you personally level your tracks on the tape.

I’ve always been curious about this too. I tend to keep mine pretty low simply because I’ve never truly known how it works and what it’s doing (is it a compressor, limiter, what is this beast?) and the manual is famously vague (OG op-1 and field). I’ve been an operator since 2014 and have never explored this facet of the op-1 or op-1 field. Please be forthcoming with the hopefully detailed illumination.

1 Like

dang for real
drive // release is where most (all) the magic is

1 Like

I know, I’ve been missing out. My issue/question is, when does the nasty unwanted digital distortion start? and what does everyone do to avoid it? When I turn the drive up, it starts getting into the red.

like the homie said above
its really all relative and interconnected

your master levels (blue and green knobs)
where you set your drum/synth levels
the actual sounds u are using
and how u have your tape levels set as well
all play roles in how the drive & release react

i think its more of a play around with kinda thing
rather than a hard this number does this
this number does that kinda thing

1 Like

But what does it do, when it’s at its most magic? I agree with the others here, the only thing that happens when I use it is that it boosts the signal, and not in an entirely pleasant way. I make sure to push the gain staging when I record as much as I can to make sure I don’t need to use the drive to get a decent out from the Field, only using the drive subtle to get slightly extra oomph. But really, if there’s some kind of magic going on here, I’ve yet to find it.