Faster sample chopping/slicing a la Circuit Rhythm?

I’m a newbie to the OP-Z but I’ve also picked up Novation’s Circuit Rhythm recently. One thing I really enjoy about the Circuit is that I can “live slice/chop” a sample by pressing the step buttons in time with the beat. Here’s an example of that (via Gabe Miller): The Ultimate Novation Circuit Rhythm Tutorial - YouTube

You can also select how many slices you want to start with (4/8/16) which helps as a starting point.

On the OP-Z, it seems like my only option is to record a full sample, hope the OP-Z does its best to slice/chop the sample sensibly, and spend a bunch of time with the green/blue knobs tweaking each sample until it sounds right.

Is there a faster way to chop samples?

I don’t know if it’s faster, but when I want to chop samples, I use Ableton and the OP-1 drum utility.

3 Likes

In OP-Z, samples are chopped evenly into 16 (low F to mid G# key) and 8 (mid A to high E key). They will be a starting point.

1 Like

On Circuit Rhythm is it possible to sample to individual pads in a kit at different times? Or do you need to record all sounds in one go and then chop to pads like the OP-Z?

Doesn’t seem faster :wink: but of course that would offer the most flexibility.

I’m mostly looking for a DAWless workflow on the device itself. Watch the video above (I’ve got it set to the right time) and you’ll see what I mean. It’s fast!

Right, but chopping a sample evenly is not always desired. Take a look at the video above, you’ll see what I mean. Look at the way he chops simply by pressing the buttons in time, that’s a really powerful feature.