Guitarist with OP-1 questions

Hello Op-1 users,

I am thinking about buying an OP-1 Field, it sounds like a lot of fun, but I have a few questions:
#1 I am a guitarist and would also like to use the OP-1 field as a notebook for my ideas and improvisations. Can I record directly to one of the four cassette decks and how long could I record for?
#2 Is it possible to import jam tracks from my PC to one of the cassette decks. Say for example a jamtrack with a length of 3 - 4 minutes?
#3 Reading the manual, I get the impression that I can’t sample anything longer than 20 seconds. Is this correct?

I hope you can help me…
Thanks in advance

2 Likes

Hey there,

From the line in or mic (or usb, radio, etc) you can directly record to each of the tape styles. And each “reel” has 4 separate stereo tracks. They support overdubbing, too. You can have 8 of those “reels”. Max length is 6 minutes each. The other style of sampling refers to the the drum sampler or melodic sampler where you play your samples like an instrument. Those are limited in length (e.g. 20 seconds).

You can access each track on each reel as a separate stereo audio file (to backup). You can also create them on the computer but they do have specific format requirements. I find it easier to simply “record” audio from the computer and other devices (e.g, via usb).

3 Likes

thank you for the detailed and good explanation.
well, now i will probably be more often with you in the forum, because I think I have to buy the op1…

2 Likes

I’m a guitar player and the op-1 field is wonderful for what you’re talking about doing. Just yesterday, I spent a few hours playing guitar through the hologram microcosm pedal into the op-1 field. You’re gonna love it.

1 Like

that’s funny. just now i was thinking about how to use op1 with the h90 from eventide or the hologram microcosm … grinning:

1 Like

Good topic! I recently got the same idea.