Help me make them talk: Op-Z, Op-1 F, Polyend Tracker and Volca FM2

Hi guys, I just signed up and this is my first post.

I’ve been making music on computers for around 20 years on and off. Mostly just jam sessions with mates but done some live gigs as well.

I recently jumped on the “dawless” bandwagon and are looking for some recommendations on how to complete my setup.

I currently have the Op-1F and Op-Z hooked up via Usb-C and this works great. Just a single cable and everything works.

I have however a Polyend Tracker as well as a Volca FM2 on order and are desperately looking for the best way to hook it all up.

My idea was a 1010Music bluebox or a TX-6.

With these, do I still need a midi hub?
Is there any advantage getting the tx-6 (Bluetooth midi?) if I won’t use it’s synth / battery features?

Thanks for your help :pray:

A MIDI hub is really a good idea, IMO.
MIO4 is not that expensive second hand, and makes everything so simple…
Add a keyboard such as the Keystep37, or an Elektron machine, or a friend’s gear that needs MIDI cables, you don’t mind: everything get synchronized easily.
:slight_smile:

You can grab a Line Module for the OP-Z, and use the TRS midi jacks to connect to the Volca and Polyend.

If you use a trs splitter (a plain headphone splitter adapter), then you should be able to send to both from one output, just use different MIDI channels.

You will also be able to send the OP-1 Field’s midi to them, vis the OP-Z.

The Line Module is a tiny wonder.

2 Likes

Just my two cents on splitting MIDI TRS signals, I had issues with the OP-Z powering down when I tried to send the MIDI out from the Oplab module to two devices via a simple TRS splitter at the same time - based on my research the MIDI standard does not support this use case (hence MIDI Thru is a thing) due to electrical issues (grounding?). It works however with a dedicated MIDI splitter box via MIDI DIN.
And yes, the Line Module is a good investment, no doubt.

1 Like