How to get this sound?

Hi! Apologies if this isn’t the right place to ask.

I’m new to tinkering with music, and OP-1 is my first synth. I’ve read the manual and tried different sound engines but haven’t internalized how they all can sound yet.

I am often curious how a particular sound from some song can be achieved. For example, take the background synth here. It sounds really basic but I haven’t figured out just which engine to peek and which knobs to turn to achieve a similar sound.

I guess my question is a bit vague but I’d love if you could either help me find how to achieve this kind of sound, or point me at resources that help to get better at this, i.e. at navigating from having a sound in my head to actually re-creating it.

Again, sorry if this isn’t the right thing to ask. I didn’t see any threads with similar questions which was a bit surprising. Thanks!

Welcome dear !
There are ressources on the internet to learn about synthesis : when you feel the ned to learn more about this, maybe look for Gordon Reid’s “Synth Secrets”. It was really helpful for me a year ago (I still have to take the time to finish it)

@lyingdalai

Good resource! Just had a quick peek.
https://www.soundonsound.com/sos/allsynthsecrets.htm

Will need to add that to the ever growing list of things to read!!

@latforbashes: you can make the sound you’re referring to in a number of ways on the OP-1. I’d suggest you select the FM engine, get the sound about right and then add Nitro as an effect and filter to taste.

@latforbashes: you can make the sound you're referring to in a number of ways on the OP-1. I'd suggest you select the FM engine, get the sound about right and then add Nitro as an effect and filter to taste.

+1 for actually explaining it instead of suggesting to learn complex maths etc. to get started with the OP-1…