I’m going to sell my OP-1 field…probably

I’ve had my op1 field for a month.
I’m a sound designer and I’ve just found it to be limited in terms of what can be done to manipulate the synth engines and sampler.
I really want to love it as it’s a beautiful thing but I don’t know if I can with its “limitations”.
Can anyone change my mind?
I guess the resale on it would be fine but I do want to keep it if I can.

1 Like

maybe hang on until after superbooth… no indication that TE are going this year but usually they release some stuff around that time. there might be firmware updates to their products which brings something new to the table, even for the op-1f…

3 Likes

i’m curious if you’re willing to share with us some of the things you wanted but couldn’t manage to do with it.

always a tough call to sell gear.

perhaps…

2 Likes

So I have used the OP1f on a couple of projects so far and have enjoyed the simplicity of the interface in some way and especially the instantaneous quality of the arp/sequencer options, as well as some of the effects (mainly terminal and cwo for creating some unique transitions), but I find the synth engines limited when it comes to creating deep or even solid sounding pieces.
It does sound thin to me, especially in the low end.
In comparison to something like the Novation Peak it has no where near the body or “warmth”.
I know the peak doesn’t have the portability or even a sequencer but this isn’t a direct comparison, more observation of the synth engines.
So yeah, I’m using it to create unique synthetic sounds and I don’t find it to sound that good…(eek) or to be very flexible

2 Likes

perhaps…

Interesting, I was looking at the list of exhibitors and they are not listed there…