Mastering in the OP-1 vs a DAW

That’s pretty much it—I have a number of #jamuary jams that I finally want to develop into songs and I’m wondering what workflow I should go with. I do like the idea of being a purist and embracing the “OP-1 sound” but also I keep having this nagging feeling that I should use a DAW instead. I have basic DAW knowledge so there would be a learning curve either way

It’s not like there are many options on OP-1, but you can try to master a whole track on it.
I find it way easier on Ableton, for sure, but OP-1 Battles often restrict it so I still do it once in a while ^^

I strongly advise to read Mike Senior’s Mixing Secrets for Small Studios.
No secrets really, just simple knowledge of a few key points when it comes to mixing.
First chapters are essential: treating your room, getting monitors, and being careful about bass that usually eat all the dynamics.
Very precious advices in there.

6 Likes

It sounds like you mean arranging and mixing and then perhaps mastering. I feel like the term mastering is getting conflated with other things in 2022. You can’t perform limiting and corrective eq on an OP-1, so NO you can’t really master with it.

1 Like

sure u can.
theres a dope compressor, a 3 band eq
spring reverb and other effects u can use in the mastering sense.
spring actually really shines for widening // thickening tracks
can u get super surgical with it? prolly not but not every track needs that
(i would say most prolly don’t)

if u get your levels right and mix accordingly
create space in the frequency spectrum for your sounds
then the need for super surgical mastering tools is not as necessary

maybe its not in the traditional sense like u say
(and ofc i do understand the point u are making. certainly a valid one)
but the definitions of what something is and isn’t
(esp when it comes to music) dont have to be so restrictive :stuck_out_tongue:

4 Likes