MIDI arrrrrgh ?

Can anyone tell me if it is even possible to control the OP-1 from an external MIDI source without the OPLAB. I use a hardware sequencer because I like the workflow. I can use a PC with a MIDI interface as a go between. Does anyone know if there is a USB /MIDI utility for PC ?

I am new to the OP-1 and it seems the documentation is . . . well . . . less than . . .never mind.

thanks for the help

1 Like

There is no really need to document OP-1 MIDI implementation, because it’s very simple. OP-1 just recieve MIDI notes, and 4 MIDI CC (from 1 to 4). CC messages used by MIDI LFO. And there is a MIDI channel selection (both for IN and OUT) under connect button (hit connect, then shift, choose chan with the knob). That’s all.

For your question, what sequencer do you have? It has MIDI DIN, MIDI USB, CV, or something else? And what MIDI interface do you use?

Basically, you have to just plug in your sequencer into MIDI interface (if it’s MIDI of course), then to you PC, plug OP-1 into PC too, and launch some program which will route MIDI messages from MIDI interface to OP-1. There is a bunch of suitable apps, like MIDI Monitor for mac.

1 Like

Hey what sequencer are you using? You can plug the OP-1 right into a computer and get midi i/o. So if your hardware sequencer is sending midi into your computer you can just route that to the OP-1 just by having it plugged in to an open usb port.

Can you control the transport functions on the OP1 tape externally via midi, or at least sync start/stop?

Can you control the transport functions on the OP1 tape externally via midi, or at least sync start/stop?

I’m trying to get transport start/stop to work too and so far haven’t had any luck, Running my OP-1 into the computer and using Cubase Pro 8.

I am able to get play/stop to work using the midi clock in midiflow for iOS, but not record. I’d settle for being able to trigger recording with a key press on my midi keyboard, but I’m not sure how set that up.