OP-1 Field A/B Drum Sample

Hello
Just received my OP-1 Field and wanted to start making some drum samples that utilize the left/right A/B side of the sample. Does anyone have any good ways to setup a sample with different sounds for the A/B side? I would like to put different sounds on each side and pan between them. I’m assuming this needs to be done on a PC, can this be setup on the Field itself?
Also a side question, Is there a way to sample into the drum sampler hands free? I know you need to hold a key down when sampling but what if I wanted to play guitar or something and need both hands? Might be a silly question but I’m new to this.
Thanks in advance for any help you may provide

Re. hands-free sampling: In the sampling screen, press Shift+Key to engage standby. It will start recording when your input level hits the threshold.

3 Likes

Is that a field only feature? ‘cause that’s dope

AFAIK this also works with OP-1 original

1 Like

Awesome! I will try this tonight! Thank you so much for the info!

2 Likes

As long as desired sounds were ‘in time’ with each other, I see no reason why you couldn’t have say, track one containing the hits for left channel, panned left - track 2 containing the hits for right channel, panned right. Then record from ear on track three so track three has track 1 contents in left speaker and track 2 contents in right speaker. You could then lift track 3 and paste into drum sampler.
Adjusting the marker precision/ track zoom first (shift + stop? Can’t remember) gives you finer precision you could even make your own samples on each beat to start with on tracks 1 and 2.

2 Likes

Great advice! I think that will work. I will try this tonight. Thank you so much for the information

1 Like

Only wish my OP-1 Field had shipped so I could try it myself :grin:

Yes I know the feeling, it was a long wait. Hopefully soon

I’m pretty sure they’re working on a sample utility for building stereo drum sample packs.