op-1 sampling / total beginner's question

hello folks,

i’m currently considering buying an op-1 and i have a few very novice questions. sorry if they are bold or have been answered already – i’d be gracious for any help:
  1. can samples be loaded onto the op-1 via usb or does it have a card-reader?
  2. can the op-1 play samples in polyphony via external midi (automatically pitching the sample according to the midi-note it receives)?
thanks from frankfurt, germany!
benni

@bennniii Hi and welcome!

1. Samples can be recorded directly into the OP-1 (via 3.5mm audio input from another instruments, iPad etc) as well as added into the machine via USB. The drum sample can be up to 12 seconds long (this is for a kit of sounds rather than one-shots), the synth is 6 seconds of sample time. You can also take samples from the build-in FM radio or the built-in mic.

2. The OP-1 can play samples polyphonically, yes. The synth sampler will pitch the notes across the keyboard as you describe.Midi keyboards can be used externally to do this although setting that up will differ for each person’s gear. This isn’t something I’ve done myself but others might be able to point you in the right direction depending on what you are using.

Hope some of this helps! Its worth checking out the excellent OP-1 manual which can be found here.
  1. only via USB, it’s a class-compliant device that shows as an external disk in Android/Win/OsX/Linux.

2. sample polyphony yes, external midi yes (only via USB of course)

@wolflegjon – thanks for the warming welcome and your help! sounds really, really rad. what a wonderful device!

one last question, which may be a luxury-problem: can the op-1 play multiple (polyphonic) samples via different midi-channels? sorry for having NO clue at all :slight_smile: what i mean is: can i load it up with e.g. 2 samples (possibly each ~3 seconds long) and play one of them in polyphony on midi ch1 and the other on midi ch2?

thanks again!