OP-1 + TR 707

Hello guys !

I have an op-1 for 2 years now, i’m in love with this gear. For christmas i bought a TR 707 and i would like to know how can you sync the op-1 and the TR (i’m a beginner as you can see haha) ? Should i need an Audio interface ? If yes, i have approximately 300E for a good one, and should i use my laptop (i have logic pro X) ?
Thanks for your answers

Best wishes

Paul

Pleaaase really need your help guys i’m lost and don’t have much time :frowning:

You need a MIDI interface that supports USB Host (for the OP-1 to plug into), like the Kenton and iConnectMIDI stuff, or an Oplab. The TR-707 can sync with MIDI iirc (it has MIDI In/Out), but if you want to use DIN Sync you’d need something that supports the protocol (like an Oplab, but there are other devices, too, can’t think of any off the top of my head, though). Roland uses DIN Sync 24, Korg uses 48, so don’t get anything meant for Korg unless you want to fiddle with tempo settings :slight_smile:

If you don’t mind using a computer it’s easy to get an audio interface that has midi out, hook the to the midi in of the tr707 and set it to sync, Hook up the op-1 to the computer via usb and put the op-1 into sync mode in the tempo page, hook both to audio ins on your interface and you’ll be good to go! If you don’t want a computer the intern is a good choice. If you don’t need audio in and your running the gear into a mixer then just get a usb to midi interface for the tr707 and use the computer/daw as the clock source.

Thank you guys really appreciate your answers !! What do you thing about using a computer ? Is it really important (i only want to use the op-1 and the TR 707)?

How can i use it without one, in fact what do you mean by the “intern” adh82?
Is for example a Focusrite scarlett 2i4 able to do what you are telling me ?

Cheers

The audio interface i’m talking about

By the way i have nothing else than the OP-1 and the TR 707 (no mixer and no cable for the TR) … :frowning: