OP-Z vs OP-1 post sampling update

I’m brand new to the synth/sampler/sequencer realm, and looking for an inspiring on-the-go sketchpad/playground. My wallet wants me to get the OP-Z but I haven’t found any videos that make it seem as inspiring as the OP-1.

Since the op-z can now sample, what (if anything) sets the op-1 apart from it?

I’m basically wondering if the op-1 is worth the price hike.

Thank you!

Hey, Welcome to the forum.

We made a video comparison between the OP1 and OPZ. However, that was before the sampling feature was added. We are working on a follow up. However, check out this video as it still has plenty of information about the two.

3 Likes

the op-1 has been around way longer and there are 100x more videos with it over the op-z.

I find the op-1 is better for playing the keys, but the op-z is better for sequencing. The sampler on both devices have similar limitations.

If you want to dip your toes in the TE synth/sampler/sequencer relm and be friendly to your wallet look at picking up a couple of the PO line. Grab a po-32 a sick drum synth, a po-33 for a sweet sampler, and one more po synth that speaks to you. I would go for the po-14. You should be able to get each device for undr $100.

I have owned a op-1 since 2011 and never thought about selling it. If it was stolen or broken I would definitely buy a new one at the higher price. I would be mad about it but still would figure out a way to pay for it.

2 Likes

I think if you liked the op1 videos more you probably should get the op1.
Seems that these two are very different. I never get my hands on the op1 but it seems that quite some op-1 lovers are not fans of the z.
Best would be to go to a music store and try both.
If you don‘t want to spend that much maybe watch some videos of other synth like elektron digitakt or model samples or electribe2 1010 music box roland tr8s. See what seems cool to you. Assuming you wanna do what you see and hear… get that one.