OP1 draining battery from OPZ when connected directly?

I have limited experience with USB-C devices, especially the mode where one device can charge another, but it appears that when I connect my OP1 directly to my OPZ via USB, the OPZ provides power to charge the OP1 as part of it’s USB Host mode.

My OP1 is configured to NOT charge while playing (and I’ve toggled it to make sure), and yet when I hold the Help button, the battery indicator animates as charging, and the OPZ appears to drop battery percentage faster than expected (OPZ indicator shows below 40% after 1-2 hours use).

Anyone else notice similar behavior on this or different equipment?

If anything, the OP1 has the larger or more efficient battery and should be charging the OPZ, but technical realities what they are… would adding a powered USB hub solve this?

OP1 -> Mini to A cable -> A to C adaptor -> OPZ
with a direct 3.5mm audio cable from OPZ to OP1 input jack

1 Like

Hey, I’d love to know this too. Sorry, I don’t have the answer :joy:

There is an option on the OP-1 to not draw power.

“the OPT mode (option mode) disables USB charging of the OP-1, without having to pull the USB-cord. in COM mode, press the OPT key (T4) for getting to the OPT mode.
from there, turn blue encoder to toggle USB charging on/off. OPT mode is useful when in a setup with a ground loop making noise. regardless of this setting, your unit will still charge if powered off, or if it runs out of power, as long as it remains physically connected via USB.”

Has this been resolved with any solution? I have this issue and it’s so hampering on my longer sessions; it seems to die right when I really get rolling if ya know what I mean… so I just bought a separate battery from I fix it. Still I would like to understand why OP-Z battery gets drained so fast when plugged into OP-1