Stock Synth Sound Design Capabilities (Op1-Field)

Hello everyone,

I had no luck posting this on the reddit forum so thought I’d give it a shot here

I’ve had an Op1-field for a few months now,

I’ve been trying to find ways to make the onboard synths sound more alive or with more character.

I’m new to sound design as a whole,

I’m not necessarily looking for an analog sound, really just looking to create more creative sounding patches that are also usable in a track.

Anyone have ideas that I can try with the onboard effects or creative uses with the LFO’s/Envelopes?

Or maybe even unconventional ways to record to tape that give interesting playback sound/effects!

I’d love to know some cool sound design tips or tricks you guys have come across to really help me open up the floodgates of what this synth is really capable of!

Thank you,

2 Likes

One thing I really wish OP-1 or OP-1 Field had, was either two LFOs or the ability for the LFO to modulate multiple things. Anyway interesting results are certainly possible regardless.

With the new Dimension virtual analog style synth, the waveform parameter changes the tone most drastically, as you’d expect. Unusually it blends between the different waveforms rather than a static choice of square, sine, saw etc.

My favourite thing to do is to use the LFO, I forget which one, but with a sine wave so it smoothly oscillates, and then assign that to the waveform. By adjusting the speed and range and setting Dimension’s waveform appropriately first, you can get some nice movement in the sound as it moves between different waveforms.

I’ve been meaning to do a video showing this and other tips but lacking time at the moment.