Super Confused About the “Follow” Punch-In Effect

Hi, I’ve been composing things on the OP-Z for a few months now, and I thought I had it mostly figured out, but I suppose not.

I’ve been practicing a song performance for a while now, which involves switching to the bass track, hitting the shift arrow, and hitting the “Follow” punch-in effect. Punching in “Follow” has always sort of solo’ed the bass track, boosted it a bit, but also added a really cool distortion to the bass, completely changing the tone of it. It was a very, very cool effect to switch to in a live performance. It seemed to completely change the tone- almost as though it had switched from the “Bow” bass synth to one of the heavily distorted ARP synths by hitting “follow.”

I recently plugged in a midi controller to see how it would work, pressed a button, and POOF, it seemed like nothing happened, but now all the “follow” effect seems to do on that bass track is solo it and maybe boost the FX/volume slightly. It sounds almost exactly the same now as just playing the normal bass track.

I don’t understand what I could have done to so drastically changed the sound. I think it’s important to say I did not ever use the distortion FX send in conjunction with hitting the punch-in effect. I think the two FX on the track have always been reverb and delay.

Could I have changed a setting while plugging in that Midi controller?

Was I just experiencing a bug before when the “follow” effect would enhance the bass tone?

Am I experiencing a bug now?

Is “Follow” just a solo effect, or does it do more to enhance the tone of the track?

Anyone with more knowledge on this thing would be a ton of help. I can find any detailed info on how the punch-in effects are supposed to work. Thanks.