Sync PO with KeyStep

I want to run my PO (I have a PO-32) as the clock master to sync the KeyStep (since I literally never have any idea what BPM the KeyStep is outputting. This way I can visually set the BPM in the PO).

This a series of steps I’m doing with some question marks on things I either don’t know or think I’m not doing right:

• I have the KeyStep on Sync In (switches on the back)
  • The PO is set to SY 1
  • I have the TRS cable coming out of the PO into the KeyStep Sync in port. (I finally realized I need a Y-Splitter here to split out the sync “sound” from the PO output.) Is the correct way to split the sync for the KeyStep?
  • Now this is the big mystery for me. What should I set the analog clock rate in KeyStep to be compatible with the PO clock being sent? I have the 3 choice of step-gate, step-clock and pulse(korg)

Appreciate the insight and help here. I’m so close to getting this to work, but still not there.

sync signal is on the tip (left). audio on the ring (right) when u split.
just make sure u get the right splitter as there a few different kinds out there
and they all tend to look the same.
like LR to LR & LR is not what u want. u want LR to L & R.

the PO sends clock signals out at an 8th note rate. or 2 pulses per quarter note.
just try the different modes on your keystep if u are unsure what is what.
altho the manual should explain what each does.
u won’t break anything. u may just get the wrong tempo.
my guess would be either pulse(korg) or step-clock is what u want.

one major thing to look out for might be that the PO sends a relatively weak sync pulse compared to other gear. it works fine like with other POs or the OP1 sync but some other gear does not like it at all. in this case u may need to amplify your signal or get used to having the keystep be master.

2 Likes

Excellent info. Thank you.

Does this seem like the right cable? It does match your description of how things are split out.