Using the OP-1 in a live situation

Hello forummers,

I’m new here so HELLO! I’ve got a fresh new OP-1 for a couple of weeks now and I’m beginnig to understand how everything works in and outside the op-1. Its a faboulous piece of musical gear. I’m preparing a live set with a looper for my voice, an elektron analog Rytm and an op-1. I had an mpc, but i want to replace the mpc with the op-1… But there are some things in a live situation that I came across that is somehow inhandy…

First, you cannot use the drums and synth engine at the same time? They cut each other off… Or am I missing something
Second, you can only use one pattern or sequence at the same time? So I am now recording everything on tape and play that, but that is somehow difficult to keep that in time

So my question… How do you play the op-1 live…
Ps. I know how I can slave the op-1 to the rytm…
And I am new to the op-1, i’m still exploring…

1 Like

You should go watch some of DJ Thomas White’s videos on YouTube

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZwsTGM-SWus

Basically he’s playing 4 bar loops on the tape over 4 channels. He’s muting channels to ‘break it down’. He’ll play a loop for a while then jump forward/backward in the tape for variations or to jump to the next song.
Then he’s using the M1/2 effects and tape effects (tape stop etc) every now and then.

So it’s pretty much all pre-programmed and it’s more of a DJ style set (kinda like NI’s new “Stem” format).

Then over this you can jam with keys, drums or sequencers - but obviously just one at a time.

Hope that helps.

Thanks for the answer.