DMX on op-z (dmx.json question)

Hey to all,

I am trying to get my dmx lights to work on my op-1…
I got the necessary usb interface (Enttec), a dmx fixture, cables,etc,…
What you need to edit is the file called dmx.json on your op-z
That is where trouble comes in …
I am quite new to editing json files,
To be honest I am also new to dmx but I have a technical background and I really want this to work

It is very hard to find any documentation on this(besides the very standard doc found in the manual), sorry for this question… my bad
If anyone else knows more about editing the dmx.json file please feel free to share or discuss…

Or if someone who got this to work on their op-z please if you would be so kind to send me your dmx.json file for my inspiration or point me in the right direction, that would be such a big help

1 Like

You an edit a .json file with a text editor. Lots of documentation on DMX is available. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DMX512 is a good starting point.

what light fixture do you have?

Thanks for your reply! Very kind …
American DJ Ultra Hex Bar 6
Tip is very interesting, in the next comment I can send you copy paste of my file, any idea what could be wrong.

{
“profiles”:
[
{
“name”: “rgb”, “1, 2, 3”: [“red”, “green”, “blue”]
},
{
“name”: “dimmer”, “7”: [“intensity”]
},
{
“name”: “movinghead_example”, “channels”: [“knob5”, “knob6”, “knob7”, “knob8”, “red”, “green”, “blue”, “white”, “strobe”]
}
],

"config":
[
	{ "fixture": 1, "profile": "rgb" },
	{ "fixture": 2, "profile": "rgb" },
	{ "fixture": 3, "profile": "rgb" },
	{ "fixture": 4, "profile": "rgb" },
	{ "fixture": 5, "profile": "rgb" },
	{ "fixture": 6, "profile": "rgb" },
	{ "fixture": 7, "profile": "rgb" },
	{ "fixture": 8, "profile": "rgb" },
	{ "fixture": 9, "profile": "rgb" },
	{ "fixture": 10, "profile": "rgb" },
	{ "fixture": 11, "profile": "rgb" },
	{ "fixture": 12, "profile": "rgb" },
	{ "fixture": 13, "profile": "rgb" },
	{ "fixture": 14, "profile": "rgb" },