Friendship between op-z and op-1

Hello! I guess I’m ripe for buying op-1 field, but I have a few questions. I’ve written quite a lot of stuff on op-z lately and I’d like to build on that… how can you describe the interaction between op-z and op-1 field? is there anything that turns you off?

2 Likes

Would love to follow this thread. Just bought the OP-Z after a long search (was about to get Op-1 Field) but the price tag and the fact that I am new to this made me postpone that. So much to learn, and excited for the OP-Z!

1 Like

I’ve got the OP-Z, OP-1 and Field, and a handful of pocket operators… so feel like I can give you at least some of the information I suspect you’re looking for. In general though, I’d say that Teenage Engineering does a great (if infuriating) job of making interesting devices, that have some rather broad gaps in their product… that other products they release are able to fill. Nothing terribly novel about doing this, and we can look at plenty of companies that do this as well, but TE… I dunno… sometimes feels like they go a bit too far.

Specifically for the OP-Z, really it has a great sequencer… plenty of potential to work with. On the flip side, the sampling, while comparable to the OP-1, the amount of storage leaves a lot to be desired. When compared to the OP-1 Field, it’s just a laughably small amount of storage. Personally, I’m of the mind that it’s mostly fine, and pushes users to experiment in different ways… but it can be a frustrating limitation. If you’re down with the sequencer specifically, the OP-1 (and field) sequencers aren’t really going to add (much) to anything you’d like to sequence.