Little Raspberry Pi project

Hi guys,

I’ve had a bit of a creativity slump in the last couple of weeks, so I tried to turn it into an “opportunity” to do something I’ve been meaning to start for a while. I mentioned it in one of the threads on the old forum I think… anyway, here’s the idea:

The end goal is to be able to plug in a Raspberry Pi into the Op-1 via USB (like you would with a computer) and to be able to use a program to split a stereo file on album into two mono files on the tape tracks. Ie, a portable and hopefully easy-to-use alternative to faffing around on the computer and doing a bunch of manual steps. I have no idea yet how you would specify which album file you want to split and which tape tracks you’d like them to be dumped to, but I guess I’ll aim for something simple and stupid to start with and let it evolve into something slightly more sophisticated as I go on.

As I’m a Java developer in my day job, I thought I’d just write it in Java, since I’d be able to get up and running quicker and you can run Java on the Raspberry Pi. To start with, I’ve been writing some code that will help me read and write aiff files. You’d think there’d already be a million such libraries in Java, eg, AiffFileReader that comes in Java itself, but it didn’t seem to be able to read the aiff files that the op-1 spits out. However, writing this code has helped me understand lots about the insides of an aiff file (based on Interchange File Format) and could (eventually) provide a base for any application that wants to tinker with the op-1 specifics inside its aiff files. Eg, two other ideas might be:

- Take a drum kit that has been made on the op-1 and split it into separate files based on the loop start and end points. (I think somebody asked whether this was possible recently).

- Take a long list of samples and convert them into Op-1 drum kits (a la Drum Utility) and have the program work out the best way to split them across drum kits efficiently.