OP-1 and (BLE) midi

Anyone had success more than me ?

I can get the Op1f to pair with CME Widi stuff (I have a Master and a Jack) and it can get the Op1f to receive midi notes, but I cant seem to get OP-1 sending midi out to anything.

Also I can’t seem to pair it with any of my iOS devices- doesn’t show up in the bluetooth menu even when advertised.

A second issue (I’m new to Op1 and midi) - if I connect to my iPad via USB I can get midi out working, but it also triggers the internal Op1 sounds. Audio is coming in via usb to Op1f. Can I switch ‘local off’ on the Op1f so I can play the iPad synths with the Op1f keys and record direct into the op1f tape?

Not sure since i only tried with tx-6, but on iOS I need to connect it directly in the app like AUM or MiRack and its also not showing in the settings app. Hope this works for you as well.

1 Like

Yes that helped alot for the iOS stuff. I found an app called midimittr which was useful too.

So i can get bidirectional midi with iOS now.

But with the CME stuff only receiving midi on Op1f works

1 Like

When I tried it, there was no problem sending and receiving MIDI.
CME WIDI Master,WIDI Bud (Send and receive)
Xkey Air (Send only)

Also, to connect to other devices such as iPads with the OP-1 field keyboard and record the performance on field tape, I try to create and use silent sounds. The volume in play mode will not be completely 0, so I think there are several other ways, such as setting the volume in the negative direction with an LFO.

1 Like

No local off, however on the OP-1 original the best method was to create a silent sample.

1 Like

Weird. What firmware you running on Op1f and Widi master?

I’ve tried Widi Jack and Widi uHost so far running the latest firmware.
I can definitely get midi into the Op1f but not out.
I wonder where I am going wrong. I’ve even tried multiple restarts, factory resets etc

very helpful thanks

I’ve also had issues trying to send USB midi clock out to ‘hosted devices’.