OP-1 Preset Manager

So I’ve had this idea in my head for a while now after I figured out the possibility to switch synth engines for presets. I’m no programmer but I’ve seen some pretty neat things done for the OP-1 like blattm’s Linux tool for sound preview presets and reddit user u/joshpriebe1234’s OP-1 Companion (opc). This has me curious about possibilities for other companion programs. My hope is that maybe someone could develop it further if there’s enough interest :face_in_clouds:

I own a Microkorg and a few other smaller synths and one of the things I enjoyed about them is the various third library managers you could find. It made backing up patches and organizing sessions easier. There is also the possibility to load plugins into your DAW and automate program changes. I don’t know if there’s anything out there that works as a library manager for the OP-1? Something that displays all patches on your OP-1, maybe it allows you to preview sounds of your presets, save backups, maybe the ability to save MIDI mapping templates, etc.

Going back to figuring out the possibility to switch synth engines for presets… There are a lot of nice textures found within the stock presets. What I usually do when sound designing is I find a base patch that has more or less the characteristic I’m going for and modify it to suit my track. To add more dimension I change the sound engines until I find something interesting to compliment my base patch and mix it in on another track. It’s sort of a nice way of experimenting while also carrying some of the original characteristics from the base to a new patch. Doing this you can find some really nice textures and it can stir up some sound design ideas.

I don’t know if anyone has managed to save each variation of the stock presets?

Example:
Base Patch: DIGITAL: DAYLIGHT
Variations:
CLUSTER: DAYLIGHT
DNA: DAYLIGHT
DR WAVE: DAYLIGHT
DSYNTH: DAYLIGHT
FM: DAYLIGHT
PHASE: DAYLIGHT
PULSE: DAYLIGHT