Piano skills necessary to compose on OP1?

Hello,

I want to get more into song-writing. I’ve been a musician most of my life, and have some basic piano skills. One of the things I aim to do with the OP1 is to use it as a song composition sketchpad, recording vocals and guitar, and using the OP1 for at least drums, and anything else the song needs.

Should I bother spending time now to improve my skills on a “regular” keyboard? For example, I don’t know keys well enough to play chord triads inversions in keys besides C. Or should I just focus my limited time on learning to do that on the OP1?

I am not trying to get performance chops with keyboards.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

• Joe
2 Likes

I’m in similar situation…know basic triads and guitar, but not fast or always sure where to find chords on the OP. I printed out a small label with letters A-G, cut them,and put the little stickers next to the appropriate keys on the OP-Z. So I’m just leaning as I go. The looping and jamming nature of the OP is giving me lots of practice, one key at a time. Whatever song im working on, i find compatible chords, try inversions, and find a scale i like.

1 Like

Scales, IMHO, are super important. Once you understand your scales, things like chord inversions will be much more intuitive. You can practice scales on the OP-1. Learn the pattern of whole and half steps in C major, then apply that pattern to scales starting on other notes. Learning this may be tedious, but there is no mystery to it. I wouldn’t worry about using correct pianist fingerings. The point is more to understand scales. You don’t need to have fast technique to enter notes into the sequencer, but it does help to understand what you’re putting into the sequencer.

Good luck!

2 Likes

You can get some coloured dot stickers and stick them on the keyboard to help remember your scales, I usually have 2 sets of them on :slight_smile:

First, thanks for all the helpful replies!